Issaquena County was established January 23, 1844, during the first administration of Gov. Albert G. Brown. Its name is derived from a combination of two Indian words: issa, meaning deer, and okhina, the poetic name of river (water road). Its territory was formerly embraced within the limits of Washington County, but on March 29, 1876, together with Washington, it contributed to form Sharkey County.

Issaquena constitutes one of the later subdivisions of the New Purchase, acquired from the Choctaws in 1820. It is a long narrow county situated in the Mississippi and Yazoo delta. Mayersville is the county seat was named for David Mayers, an extensive land owner.

Issaquena County is bordered by Washington County (north), Sharkey County (northeast), Yazoo County (east), Warren County (south) and East Carroll Parish, Louisiana (west).

About the MSGenWeb Project

In June, as the Kentucky Project was coming to completion, it was decided to create this page for all states, establishing the USGenWeb Project. Volunteers were found who were willing to coordinate the collection of county pages for a state page. If you would like to contribute your data or create a county page within a given state, please contact the person responsible for maintaining that state's page the MSGenWeb State Coordinator.

MSGenWeb State Coordinator - Jeff Kemp
Ya'll come back now, ya hear??  This page was last updated on --   January 21, 2014  --
© 1997 - 2009 by MSGenWeb, All rights reserved. This information may be used  by libraries and genealogical societies, however, commercial use of this information is strictly prohibited without prior permission of the owner. . If copied, this copyright notice must appear with the information.