Tishomingo County banner showing old citizen and old courthouse


L.R. Davis had previously named Dennis in honor of the New Providence pastor. Being the postmaster and a highly respected business man as well, L.R. Davis could be called “Mr. Dennis” without fear of overstating the point. He was to be a dominating force at Dennis until his death in 1942. In November 1907 L.R. Davis, Belle Davis, Charles Flurry and Lillie Cleo Flurry recorded the plat and map of the town of Dennis which John Henry Clark had surveyed and laid out. In late 1907 L.R. Davis moved the Dennis post office about a quarter of a mile northeast of the old site and about 150 feet west of the railroad on the new townsite.

On September 4, 1908, the Village of Dennis was officially incorporated with 130 residents. William H. Lindsey was the first mayor; John C. Cornelius, marshall; and Ransom Young, treasurer. Aldermen were: J.A. Byram, L.F. Sartain and R.F. Flurry. Dr. Middleton M. Davis was the first practicing physician here.

Property for a school was deeded to Dennis Methodist trustees by Willis M. and Harriet Davis in 1910.

Submitted by Kathy Everitt and Cindy Nelson.


MSGenWeb logo

MSGenWeb Tishomingo Co. Coordinator: Jeff Kemp


USGenWeb logo