Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library

Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum 203 East Quitman Street Iuka, MS 38852

Phone: 662-423-3500

E-mail: tcarchives@nadata.net

URL: http://www.rootsweb.com/~mstchgs/

TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor OR the legal representative of the submitter and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.

The following historical information on Methodist Episcopal Church conferences was typed by Cindy Whirley Nelson from a booklet donated by Mr. J. E. Glasgow.

Methodist Episcopal Church Conference—November 29-December 4, 1916

Minutes of the 47th Session of the North Mississippi Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, held at Winona, Mississippi, November 29 to December 4, 1916.

Bishop W. B. Murrah—President Rev. J. R. Countiss—Secretary Rev. Olin Ray—Assistant Secretary Rev. J. J. Baird and Rev. A. T. McIlwain—Statistical Secretaries

Belmont Circuit: W. W. Hartsfield in charge Local preachers: 1; Total membership: 362

Value of churches: 4,500; Number of churches in charge: 6

Iuka Circuit: W. D. McCullough in charge Local preachers: 1; Total membership: 325

Value of churches: 3,500; Number of churches in charge: 1

Iuka Circuit: W. I. White in charge

Total membership: 508

Value of Churches: 2,500; Number of churches in charge: 7

Tishomingo Circuit: R. S. Lawson in charge

Total membership: 154

Value of churches: 3,000; Number of churches in charge: 7

Appointments:

H. C. Edmondson, Iuka, Superannuate L. A. McKeown, Iuka, Iuka Station

Probationers:

W. C. Beasley, Tishomingo, Tishomingo Circuit

W. I. White, Iuka, Iuka Circuit

B. G. Whitehurst, Burnsville, Burnsville Circuit

Directory Local Preachers:

J. A. Byram (Elder), Dennis

W. M. McIntosh (Elder), Golden Circuit

L. A. McKeown, Iuka

W.I. White, Iuka Circuit

Appointments:

W. C. Beasley, Tishomingo Circuit

B. G. Whitehurst, Burnsville Circuit

Guy Ray, Iuka

B. G. Whitehurst, Burnsville (Supplies)

Note: Corinth District also included New Albany, Corinth, Myrtle, Broomfield, Dorsey, Baldwyn, Booneville, Ecru, Kossuth, Ratliff, Saltillo, Walnut, Ripley, Marietta, and New Albany.

Methodist Episcopal Church Conference—November 21-26, 1917

Minutes of the 48th Session of the North Mississippi Annual Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, held at Oxford, Mississippi, November 21-26, 1917.

Bishop W. B. Murrah—President

Rev. J. R. Countiss—Secretary

Rev. R. A. Tucker—Assistant Secretary

Rev. A. T. McIlwain and Rev. S. F. Harkey—Statistical Secretaries

Burnsville Circuit: B.G. Whitehurst in charge

Total membership: 146

Value of churches: 2,300; Number of churches in charge: 4

Golden Circuit: Guy Ray, in charge

Local preachers: 1; Total membership: 250

Value of churches: 4,500; Number of churches in charge: 6

Iuka Circuit: L.A. McKeown in charge

Total membership: 277

Value of churches: 3,700; Number of churches in charge: 1

Iuka Circuit: J. R. Murff in charge

Total membership: 180

Value of churches: 3,000; Number of churches in charge: 7

Appointments:

W. C. Beasley, Tishomingo, Tishomingo

Circuit

H. C. Edmondson, Iuka, Superannuate

L. A. McKeown, Iuka, Iuka Station

J. R. Murff, Iuka, Iuka Circuit

J. W. York, Golden, Golden Circuit

Directory Local Preachers:

W. T. Bazzell, Burnsville (Elder—Supplies)

J. A. Bryam, Dennis (Supplies)

J. W. York, Golden (Deacon—Supplies)

W. M. McIntosh, Iuka (Elder)

J. R. Murff, Iuka (Supplies)

Appointments:

W. T. Bazzell; Burnsville Circuit

J. W. York: Golden Circuit

L. A. McKeown: Iuka Station

J. R. Murff; Iuka Circuit

W. C. Beasley, Tishomingo Circuit

Probationers:

W. C. Beasley, Tishomingo, Tishomingo

Circuit

W. I. White, Iuka, Iuka Circuit

B. G. Whitehurst, Burnsville, Burnsville

Circuit