Tishomingo County banner showing old citizen and old courthouse

Burgess Creek Freewill Baptist Church

Burgess Creek Freewill Baptist Church, 394 County Road 55, Tishomingo, Mississippi 38873

Directions:  Located in the Paden Community; turn right off of County Road 961 in S. Holcut

Pastor:  Allen Jones

The Burgess Creek Freewill Baptist Church was organized September 19, 1946, by Rev. G. P. Mayo.  There were seven chartered members:  George and Rosie Lambert, Elton and Emma Nichols, Mattie Bell Strickland, Hazel Gentle, and Arnell Nichols.  The land for the original church was donated by the Strickland and Nichols families.  When the land was surveyed for the Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway, it was discovered that the church would have to be relocated.  The final service was held on March 30, 1975.


The members then started looking for a new location to rebuild the church.  Two acres of land was purchased from the John Felker estate, and a new church was built which included an auditorium, three Sunday school rooms, and bathrooms.  Later, two additional Sunday school rooms were added, and in 1988, a fellowship hall was started.


Pastors of the first church were:

L. M. Wiggington

Elected 1947

R. A. Johnson

Elected 1949

C. P. Bray

Elected 1950

R. C. McCoy

Elected 1954

Burlon Jones

Elected 1955

Sidney Whitehead

Elected 1958

Rev. Johnson

Elected 1960

Travis Johnson

Elected 1961

Earnest Hopkins

Elected 1962

Berlon Jones

Elected 1964

No Pastor


Gary Johnson

Elected 1967

Jerry House

Elected 1968

Ted Simmons

Elected 1972

R. C. Spencer

Elected 1974

Danny Short

Elected 1975

Lenarse Strickland

Elected 1979


Services in the new church facility began April 6, 19??.  Pastors were::

Leonard Casabella

Elected 1981

Eulon Pruitt

Elected 1982

Tommy Wright

Elected 1986

Allen Jones

Elected 1990


Courtesy of Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society.

The task ahead of us is never as great as the Power behind us.

MSGenWeb logo

MSGenWeb Tishomingo Co. Coordinator: Jeff Kemp


USGenWeb logo