Tishomingo County banner showing old citizen and old courthouse

Belmont Church of Christ

Belmont Church of Christ, 689 Highway 25, P.O. Box 129, Dennis, Mississippi 38838

Source:  Belmont & Tishomingo Journal, July 1, 1976.


The Belmont Church of Christ was organized in Belmont, Mississippi, in 1909.  During the same year, the church erected a frame building to serve as a meeting house until the present brick building was erected in 1936-37.  The ministerʼs home was erected in 1951.


At the time the church was established, there were eight charter members:  A. J. Trollinger, Mrs. A. J. Trollinger, Mrs. R. L. Shook, T. B. Lindsey, Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Shook, and Mr. and Mrs. Dick Ferguson.  The Belmont congregation was served by the following elders from the time it was organized in 1909 through 1976:  Bros. T. B. Lindsey, R. L. Shook, W. W. Shook, E. Clay Wright, E. F. White, Raymond E. Patrick, W. Claude Carr, H. R. Davis, Robert Williams, and James Timbes.


Those who served the congregation as deacons were:  Bros. A. J. Trollinger, M. L. Shook, J. H. Lambert, E. F. White, W. C. Carr, Raymond E. Patrick, Roy L. Vaughn, R. C. Byram, Robert Williams, Wallace Williams, Bud Searcy, Ellis Carr, Fred Pounds, and Paul Moore.


Ministers who served the congregations were:  Bros. R. L. Shook.  Full-time ministers were Tommy Rosenbloom, James Burns, James M. Allen, Thomas A. Franklin, Jerry I. Steel, Joel Caudle, Ray Dutton, Paul Detorio, and Don Nix.


By 1976, the membership had grown to about 137 members.

Courtsey of Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society.
The task ahead of us is never as great as the Power behind us.

MSGenWeb logo

MSGenWeb Tishomingo Co. Coordinator: Jeff Kemp


USGenWeb logo