Courtesy of the Tishomingo County Historical & Genealogical Society Original files are housed in the John Marshall Stone Research Library

Tishomingo County Archives & History Museum 203 East Quitman Street Iuka, MS 38852

Phone: 662-423-3500

E-mail: tcarchives@nadata.net

URL: http://www.rootsweb.com/~mstchgs/

TCHGS COPYRIGHT NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free information on the Internet, materials may be freely used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material, AND permission is obtained from the contributor of the file.

These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by other organizations. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for non-commercial purposes MUST obtain the written consent of the contributor OR the legal representative of the submitter and contact the listed Tishomingo County Archives & Historical Society (TCHGS) with proof of this consent.

Physicians of Tishomingo County, Mississippi—1869

The following information, written by Dr. L. L. McDougal, Sr., of Booneville, Mississippi, was transcribed by Cindy Whirley Nelson. The first medical society in Old Tishomingo County was organized July 2, 1860, at Jacinto, with Dr. J. M. Taylor of Rienzi, President, and Dr. Joseph Stout of Corinth, Secretary. The Society was disbanded on account of the war and re-organized June 16, 1870, as Tishomingo District Medical Society in Dr. J. M. Taylor's office at Corinth. He was again elected president, Dr. J. M. Young, Secretary, and Dr. A.J. Borrum, Treasurer.

- Dr. Hale, Kossuth, Mississippi—University of Nashville, 1857
- Dr. D. B. McFarlane of Corinth, Mississippi—University of Pennsylvania, 1854
- Dr. A. J. Brewster of Corinth, Mississippi—Medical College, Atlanta, Georgia, 1860
- Dr. R. T. Marshall of Iuka, Mississippi—University of Pennsylvania, 1837
- Dr. J. S. Davis of Iuka, Mississippi—Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 1845
- Dr. R. S. Hodges of Cartersville, Cartersville Medical College, Louisville, Kentucky, 1855
- Dr. John Gorden, Rienzi, Mississippi—Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia Pennsylvania, 1860
- Dr. W. A. Taylor, Booneville, Mississippi—University of Louisville, Kentucky, 1845
- Dr. D. T. Price, Booneville, Mississippi—Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia Pennsylvania, 1866 (died 1928)
- Dr. J. H. P. Stephenson, Blackland, Mississippi—University of Louisville, Kentucky, 1853
- Dr. W. A. Caveness, Burnsville, Mississippi—University of Nashville, Tennessee, 1869
- Dr. John Harvey of near Burnsville, Mississippi—University of Louisville, Kentucky, 1854
- Dr. Charles Ryan of Bay Springs, Mississippi—Memphis Medical College, 1869
- Dr. M. V. Bynum of Hatchie RiverMississippi—University of Tennessee, 1858
- Dr. J. M. Bynum of Corinth, Mississippi—University of Pennsylvania, 1857

- Dr. J. M. Taylor of Corinth and Jacinto, Mississippi—Jefferson Medical College, Pennsylvania, 1851
- Dr. William Jones Rogers of Marietta, Mississippi—Louisville Medical College, Kentucky (surgeon in CSA—Iuka)
- Dr. N. B. Warren of Marietta, Mississippi—Louisville Medical College, Kentucky, 1861
- Dr. E. A. Cox of Baldwyn, Mississippi—University of Louisiana, 1868
- Dr. Wiley Ben Williams of Baldwyn, Mississippi—University of Tennessee, 1859 (died 1885)