Mississippi Counties & Special Sites

Special Sites - MSGenWeb Home

If you would like to reserve a county in case it comes up for adoption please click here...

If you would like to adopt a MSGenWeb County please read County Coordinator Guide
  and then please fill out the MSGenWeb CC Adoption Application form.

Last Edited 04/24/17

County Date Created Parent County County  Seat County  Coordinators
Special Project Manager       Ann Geoghegan 
Adams 1799 Natchez District Natchez Carolyn Switzer
Alcorn 1870 Tippah / Tishomingo Corinth Jeff Kemp
Amite 1809 Wilkinson Liberty John Cain
Attala 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Kosciusko Jeff Kemp
Bainbridge 1823 -
Historic - Created from Covington Co.  Merged back into Covington Co in 1824    
Benton 1870 Marshall / Tippah Ashland Melissa McCoy-Bell 
Bolivar 1836 Choctaw Cession Of 1830 Cleveland & Rosedale Debbie Leftwich
Bourbon 1785 -
Historic - Area of current Adams and Wilkinson County.  Formed 
as early part of the Yazoo Land Faud. 
Calhoun 1852 Chickasaw / Lafayette / 
Pittsboro Rose Diamond
Carroll 1833 Choctaw Cession Carrollton & Vaiden Leo "Buddy" Pergson
Chickasaw 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1830 Houston & Okolona Peggy Young
Choctaw 1833 Choctaw Cession Ackerman Denise Woodside
Claiborne 1802 Jefferson Port Gibson Ann Geoghegan
Clarke 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Quitman James Mobley
1871 Chickasaw / Lowndes /Monroe / Oktibbeha West Point Denise Wells 
Coahoma 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1836 Clarksdale Sara Cross
Colfax 1871 - 1876 Historic - Created from 
Chickasaw, Lowndes, Monroe, & Oktibbeha in 1871.  Named changed to Clay in 1876.
Copiah 1823 Hinds Hazlehurst Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Covington 1819 Lawrence / Wayne Collins Gene Phillips
Davis 1865 - 1869 Historic - Jones Co changed 
name to Davis in 1865, back 
to Jones in 1869
DeSoto 1836 Indian Lands Hernando Tim Harrison
Forrest 1906 Perry Hattiesburg Gene Phillips
Franklin 1809 Adams Meadville Carolyn Switzer 
George 1910 Greene / Jackson Lucedale Pat Creel
Greene 1811 Amite / Franklin / Wayne Leakesville Ann Geoghegan
Grenada 1870 Carroll / Yalobusha / 
Montgomery /Tallahatchie / 
Webster / Choctaw
Grenada Sandy Ward
Hancock 1812 Mobile District Bay Saint Louis Denise Wells
Harrison 1841 Hancock / Jackson Gulfport & Biloxi Ann Geoghegan
Hinds 1821 Choctaw Cession of 1820 Jackson & Raymond Jane Combs
Holmes 1833 Yazoo Lexington Monique Young 
Humphreys 1918 Holmes / Washington /Yazoo / Sunflower Belzoni Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Issaquena 1844 Washington Mayersville Gene Phillips
Itawamba 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Fulton William Camp
Jackson 1812 Mobile District Pascagoula Pat Creel, Coordinator
Brenda Waltman Knippers, Asst. Coordinator
Julius (Buck) Redmond, Asst. Coordinator
Jasper 1833 Indian Lands Bay Springs & Paulding Diane Payne
Jefferson 1799 Natchez Fayette Toni Stewart &
Ann Geoghegan
1906 Covington / Lawrence Prentiss James Mobley
1826 Covington / Wayne Laurel & Ellisville Diane Payne
Kemper Choctaw Cession of 1830 De Kalb   Marsha Bryant
Lafayette 1836 Chickasaw Cession Oxford Gene Phillips 
Lamar 1904 Marion / Pearl River Purvis Ann Geoghegan
Lauderdale 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1833 Meridian Linda Sullivan Simpson
Lawrence 1814 Marion Monticello Dennis Partridge
Leake 1833 Choctaw Cession Carthage Bruce Reeves 
Lee 1866 Itawamba / Pontotoc Tupelo Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Leflore 1871 Carroll / Sunflower / 
Greenwood Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Lincoln 1870 Franklin / Lawrence /Copiah / 
Pike / Amite
Brookhaven Virginia Zeigler
Lowndes 1830 Monroe Columbus Denise Wells 
Madison 1828 Yazoo Canton Lea Ann Robertson
Marion 1811 Amite / Wayne / Franklin Columbia Shannon Gorman
Marshall  1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Holly Springs Deb Haines 
Monroe 1821 Chickasaw Cession of 1821
(Additional Monroe Information)
Aberdeen Chris Jackson 
Montgomery 1871 Carroll / Choctaw Winona Sandy Ward
Neshoba 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Philadelphia Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Newton 1836 Neshoba Decatur Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Noxubee 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Macon Annette Rose, Coordinator
Robby Taylor, Asst. Coordinator
Oktibbeha 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Starkville Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Panola 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1830 Batesville & Sardis Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Pearl River 1890 Hancock / Marion Poplarville Linda Sullivan Simpson
Perry 1820 Greene New Augusta Gene Phillips
Pickering 1799 -
Historic - Claiborne formed 
from Pickering, and name 
changed to Jefferson in 1802.
Pike 1815 Marion Magnolia Virginia Zeigler
Pontotoc 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Pontotoc Peggy Young
Prentiss 1870 Tishomingo Booneville Jeff Kemp
Quitman 1877 Panola / Coahoma Marks Sara Cross
Rankin 1828 Hinds Brandon Jane Combs
Scott 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1832 Forest Gayle Triller
Sharkey 1876 Warren / Washington / 
Rolling Fork Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Simpson 1824 Choctaw Cession of 1820 Mendenhall Jane Combs
Smith 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Raleigh Linda Sullivan Simpson
Stone 1916 Harrison Wiggins Tina Vickery
Sumner 1874 -
Historic - Created from Montgomery, Chickasaw,  Choctaw Counties in 1874, and  part of Oktibbeha in 1875. 
Name changed to Webster in 1882.
Sunflower 1844 Bolivar Indianola Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Tallahatchie 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Charleston & Sumner Lela Evans, Coordinator 
Tate 1873 Marshall / Tunica / DeSoto Senatobia Syble Embrey, Coordinator, Marie Carlton, Asst. Coordinator
Tippah 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Ripley Melissa McCoy-Bell
Tishomingo 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Iuka Jeff Kemp
Tunica 1836 Chickasaw Cession of 1832 Tunica Sara Cross
Union 1870 Pontotoc /Tippah New Albany Melissa McCoy-Bell
Walthall 1910 Marion / Pike Tylertown Virginia Zeigler
Warren 1809 Natchez District Vicksburg Virginia Zeigler
Washington 1827 Warren / Yazoo Greenville Gayle Triller
Wayne 1809 Mississippi Territory's
"Old" Washington County
Waynesboro Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Webster 1874 Montgomery / Chickasaw /
Choctaw / Oktibbeha
Walthall Denise Woodside
Wilkinson 1802 Adams Woodville Carolyn Switzer
Winston 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Louisville Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator
Yalobusha 1833 Choctaw Cession of 1830 Water Valley & Coffeeville Monique Young 
Yazoo 1823 Hinds Yazoo City Monique Young 
Unknown County       Adoptable
Contact State Coordinator

Please contact the MSGenWeb State Coordinator regarding questions, suggestions, or comments about this website.

Jeff Kemp - State Coordinator, Ann Allen Geoghegan - Assistant State Coordinator, Denise Wells - Assistant State Coordinator

Ann Geoghegan - Special Projects Manager 
Content copyright 1997-2017 MSGenWeb Team, where noted. All rights reserved.

Last updated Monday, 24-Apr-2017 19:57:01 EDT