Mississippi GenWeb Project State Logo

US GenWeb Project National Logo

Hurricane School: The Way We Were

Third and Fourth Graders of 1939-40

Third and Fourth Grade, 1939 - 1940

Front Row: Rack Warren, Willie (Dock) Swann, Jr., Wallace Waldron, Dosty Todd, Evelyn Gullick, Frances Graham, Lillian Waldron, Lucille Horton, Ruby J. Russell
2nd Row: Mabel Williams, Ethelene Buchana, Elna Ruth Russell, Bernette Coleman, Wyrene Hale, Geraldine Montgomery, Karel Spears, Beradine Caples
3rd Row: Itra Dale Robbins, Stanely Russell, Gerald Sneed, Frank Cox, Jr., Nadine Sneed, Loyce Caples, Dean Dillard, Boyd Flanagin
4th Row: Carthel (Shorty) Williams, Billy Raines, Waymon Morris, Annie Laura Hale, Billy Todd, Walter Fred Sneed, James Caples, Leighton Benjamin, Jerry Bramlitt
5th Row: Bunice Horton, Hugh Darrell Waldrop, Fay Flanagin, _______ Smith, Mildred Benjamin, Mary Horton, Ludie Dorrough, Eberl Russell, C.V. Hayse

Class of 1940

Class of 1940

Front Row: Nina Mae Bulter, Burma Waldron, Josephine Smitherman, Jewel Horton
2nd Row: Annie Clara Mitchell, lurene Todd, Gussie Warren, Lucille McDonald
3rd Row: Fulton Hayse, Doyle Caples, Lloyd Chunn, Troy Todd

Class of 1941

Class of 1941

L-R: Dalton Jarrett, Troy Montgomery, James Gullick, Lorene Coker, Onice Williams, Reba Spears, Diamond Lurine Sneed, Alfred Jackson, Sanford Faust, Doyce Whitehead
Top Row: Elaine Bouge, Obine Long, Hazel Warren, Lessie B. Kidd, Alpha Jarrett, Ruth Russell
The School's first yearbook, The Hurricane Breeze , was published this year.

The information and photographs on this page is extracted from "The Way We Were", a book created by the Pilot Club of Ecru. It is used by permission given to Debbie Anderson by Donna Mooney, President of the Pilot Club and compiler of the book.

MSGenWeb   USGenWeb  Pontotoc County Home Page