[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Seat of Government:


"The county seat of Lafayette County, originally consisted of 50 acres of land bought from Ho Hah, a Chickasaw Indian woman on June 12, 1836 by John Chisholm, John J. Craig and John D. Martin.

The village, which is in the approximate center of the county, was incorporated in 1837.

Oxford was named as the site of the University of Mississippi in 1841. (The University was several miles west of the City Limits of Oxford, an independant community with it own postoffice and government.)

In late 1862, General Sherman and his troops camped on the Courthouse Square on his march to The Battle of Vicksburg before burning it. They returned again in 1864 on their March back to the North", (burning everything in their wake emc).

Oxford lies between State Hwy 6 (Hwy # 334 was the Old Hwy 6 or Lamar Hwy) and State Hwy 7 (Old Jefferson Rd), State Hwy 30 (Old Falkner Hwy); State Hwys 314 and 334 (Old Sardis Hwy or Lamar Highway) runs through the Downtown area of Oxford.

Historical City of Oxford is 27 miles east of Interstate 55, Batesville exit on State Hwy 6.

Post Office established July 6, 1837, still in operation: first post master John J. CRAIG July 6 1837 - April 3 1839 : Roy C. BAILEY January 1, 1943 - October 31 1969.


Other Links to Oxford MS

Previous Next

[an error occurred while processing this directive]