Pensioners for 1913

This book is housed at the Corinth Depot library of the Alcorn County Genealogical Society (ACGS). Copies can be ordered from the ACGS. Typed by Vicki Burress Roach exactly as appears in the original book.

page 22

Be it remembered that the Board of Pension Commissioners of Alcorn County, Mississippi met in the Chancery Clerk's office, in the court house in the city of Corinth, on Monday, September 8th, 1913, when there were present the following members and officers, to wit:

D.J. Hyneman, president and member from the First District,
Bud Brown-member from the Second District,
H.C. Powell-Member from the Third District,
J.W. McAnulty Member from the Fourth District,
W.V.S. Rogers Member from the Fifth District,
O.M. Hinton clerk of the Board.

And when the following proceedings were had, to-wit:
D.J. Hyneman not being able to serve on motion properly made and carried, it was ordered that H.C. Klyce be substituted in the place and stead of D.J. Hyneman. Came on the election of a Chairman in the absence of D.J. Hyneman, Chairman, when J.W. McAnulty was nominated and unanimously elected Chairman for the present Term. Came on the consideration of new applications, when the following were examined and allowed, to-wit: Mrs. E.J. Boals, No. 6 pensioner
Mrs. Lizzie Y.? Collier No. 6 pensioner
Nancy Rogers No. 6 pensioner
Mrs. M.H. Kilpatrick No. 6 pensioner
L.B. Thompson No. 4 pensioner
O.T. Cowan No. 4 pensioner
W.M. Richardson No. 4 pensioner
David Parker No. 4 pensioner
Robt. Langford No. 4 pensioner
Bob Baptist No. 5 pensioner

The following applications were examined and for want of sufficient proof were disallowed, to-wit: Mrs. M.A. Crum No. 6
Josh Carpenter No. 4

page 23

On examination of the Roll it was found that the following pensioners had died to wit: Luke Bynum
Mary R. Brady
S.M. Coleman
M.E. Dilworth
Narcissa Dancer
Sallie Mattox
J.H. McPherson
M. Suitor

And that the following had moved away, to-wit: Mrs. N.J. Wood-moved to Texas
W.R. Kennedy-moved to Ark.
Ellen Walker-moved to Cal.

The Board then adjourned to meet Tuesday Sept. 9th, 1913, at 9 o'clock A.M.
(Signed) J.W. McAnulty

The Board met Tuesday Sept. 9th, 1913, at 9 A.M. pursuant to adjournment when there were present all members and officers as on yesterday, and when the following proceedings were had, to-wit:
On motion properly made and carried, it is ordered that the order allowing pension to Mrs. M.H. Kilpatrick, be and the same is hereby rescinded.

It was ordered by the Board that the following names be and there are hereby dropped from the Roll as follows, to-wit: Mrs. M.J. Brewer, on account of too much property
L.F. Bowen on account of having moved to Tenn.
J.J. Vanderford on account of supposition of his death, as he failed to receipt for his warrant of 1912
W.R. Kennedy, moved to Arkansas.


Be it resolved that we the Pension Board of Alcorn County, Mississippi do hereby memorialize the Legislature of the State of Mississippi, to repeal the property qualification clause in the Pension law, and admit all veterans who can prove a good service record, and whose income does not exceed $300.00 per annum.

It was ordered that the following list shall constitute the Pension Roll, 1913.

Pages 24-28

Anderson Ann W.
Austin J.W.
Baker Sarah A.
Baptist Bob
Barker W.C.
Barnes Spicie E.
Barnes W.L.
Barns? L.E.
Barton J.W.
Bennett C.D.?
Bingham Martha
Boales E.J.
Bobo Rosa A.
Bonds Dovie
Boone N.A.
Boone W.R.
Boyd M.C.
Broadaway N.E.
Brooks Sarah F.
Browning C.N.
Burcham W.S.
Burns? L.E.
Burrow A.H.
Burrow M.J.
Burus? L.E.
Bynum W.M. (dead)
Cameron M.C.
Carter Lydia
Cheek W.D.
Choate D.
Clay Bettie E.
Clemmons Darcas L.?
Collier Lizzie Y.
Cooke R.F.
Cowan O.F.? or O.T.
Cunningham Wm.
Dalton Lizzie
Dalton T.B.
Deese J.P.
Dillingham Sarah
Dobbins C.F.
Driver Tennie
Duncan C.P.
Enoch M.B.
Fields R.J.
Forsyth Creasy
Friar Mary A.
Gallyean R.E.
Gilton Jas.
Ginn Jackson
Glover E.
Grace V.A.
Greenhaw Jas. E.
Gurley Nancy
Guthrie Mary E.
Harper Mollie (dead)
Harris W.P.
Haynie E.D. (dead)
Haynie Rachel
Hearn C.C.
Henry Belle
Honnoll P.?A.
Hooker A.M.
Hopkins A.J.
Hudson L.C.
Huff O.?M.
Hyneman B.F.
Jones G.O.
Jones M.E.
Jones Sarah A.
Joslin Mariah
Keith Mary E. (gave land to son, J.Y. Keith for life support)
Kesee J.M.
Killough Esther
Kincaid J.R.
Lamberth Julia
Lamberth N.J.
Langford Robt. (gone to Prentiss)
Leatherwood W.V.
Leigh J.J.
Lewis Wm.
Little Calvin
Lowry G.W.
Martin N.J.
Mathis Eliza
Mathis J.C.
McNeely Martha
Melvin Carrie E.
Miller Cynthia
Mincy J.M.
Mitchell W.H.
Moody M. (dead)
Moss Angeline
Murdough Horace
Murrah W.H.
Myers S.H.?
Nash Elizabeth
Nelms Nancy
Page Thos.
Parker David
Petty Drucilla
Phillips Emma
Poindexter F.H.
Polk N.E.
Porterfield Jno.
Potts M.F.
Ray F.C. (dead)
Reynolds Cleo
Reynolds M.J.
Richardson Amanda
Richardson W.M. (dead is marked out)
Robison S.F.
Robison Sallie
Rogers B.F.
Rogers Nancy
Sanders Cynthia
Savage M.L.
Scally W.H.
Scarberry M.
Scott Jarrett
Searcy M.J.
Shaw B.B.
Simms Tennie
Smith Amanda
Smith Flora
Smith Jno.
Smith Phoebe
Smith W.H.
Steen T.E.
Stephenson S.E.
Strickland E.C.
Strickland G.W.
Strickland Julia
Studdard R.M.
Taylor M.E.
Taylor M.J.
Thompson L.B.
Thrasher J.G.?
Treuier? C.T.
Trimble R.C.
Vanderford A.T.
Vandiver E.B.
Voyles E.
Voyles W.J.
Wade Ellen
Walker F.A.
Warren Lizzie
Watts A.B.
Whitehurst A.E.
Wigginton J.K.
Willbanks E.W.
Willbanks J.S.
Wilson Eddie
Wood M.
Yarbrough J.C.

There being no further business the Board adjourned. (Signed by)
Jno. W. McAnulty President of Board
H.C. Klyce
W.M. Brown
H.C. Powell
W.V.S. Rogers

Alcorn County Home
Copyright Notice:
All files on this site are copyrighted by their creator. They may be linked to but may not be reproduced electronically or otherwise without specific permission from the county host and/or the contributor. Although public information is not in and of itself copyrightable, the format in which they are presented, the notes and comments, etc., are. It is however, quite permissible to print or save the files to a personal computer for personal use ONLY.

Copyright - MSGenWeb Team - All Rights Reserved